Press releases collection for homepage

News from and about University of Minnesota Press initiatives in scholarly collaboration and technological advancements.
Alondra Nelson's BODY AND SOUL wins American Sociological Association section book award
Alondra Nelson's BODY AND SOUL receives the ASA's Race, Gender and Class Section's 2012 Distinguished Book Award.
TWELVE OWLS wins honorable mention for general nonfiction
The Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards has recognized TWELVE OWLS by Laura Erickson and Betsy Bowen with an honorable mention in general nonfiction.
RIFFTIDE nominated for Jazz Journalists Association Award
Rifftide: The Life and Opinions of Papa Jo Jones, edited by Paul Devlin, is nominated for Best Book about Jazz of the Year. Winners will be announced June 20th.
Karen Nelson Hoyle is recipient of 2012 Kerlan Award
TWELVE OWLS among NE Minnesota Book Awards nominees
TWELVE OWLS, written by Laura Erickson and with illustrations by Betsy Bowen, is among this year's NE Minnesota Book Awards nominees in the Nonfiction category.
Author Joel Olson dies at 45
Joel Olson was a professor at Northern Arizona University and author of The Abolition of White Democracy (2004).
Suspended Animation: Children's Picture Books and the Fairy Tale of Modernity by Nathalie op de Beeck has been declared the best book of 2010 by the Children's Literature Association
SISTER ARTS a Publishing Triangle Award nominee
Honoring the best in LGBT writing for 2011, the Publishing Triangle and the Ferro-Grumley Literary Awards are pleased to recognize the finalists in the six categories below. The winners will be announced at our awards ceremony on April 19, 2012.
VIKINGS IN THE ATTIC a finalist for MN Book Award
OUT OF THE VINYL DEEPS a finalist for a National Book Critics Circle award
University of Minnesota Press is thrilled at the news that OUT OF THE VINYL DEEPS: ELLEN WILLIS ON ROCK MUSIC, a compilation of essays by the New Yorker's first pop music critic, has been selected as a finalist for a National Book Critics Circle award.
Documentary "Pink Ribbons, Inc." opens in Canada on Feb. 3rd
Pink Ribbons Inc., a documentary film that had a well-received debut at the Toronto International Film festival last year, will open in Canadian theatres beginning Feb. 3rd, 2012.
Johnny Otis, ‘Godfather of Rhythm and Blues,’ Dies at 90
Evolutionary biologist Lynn Margulis dies at 73
On November 22, 2011, Lynn Margulis died at the age of 73. She was Distinguished University Professor in the Department of Geosciences at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1983, in 1999 received the Presidential Medal of Science from Bill Clinton, and was a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.
University Presses Lead the Way for Publisher-Based Ebook Systems
In the 1920s, there were an estimated 12 university presses operating in America; today that number is about 130. Over the years, university presses have forged ahead with some of the more thoughtful and “daring” coverage and analysis of such complex issues as globalization, immigration, civil rights, constitutional law, and so on. Many of these presses have also developed their own areas of specialization and acclaim: MIT and Yale’s coverage of architecture; Princeton, Yale, Columbia, Oxford, and Harvard’s emphasis on literacy criticism; Minnesota’s coverage of cultural critique, ethnic studies, and theory; and some of the excellent regional coverage from Arizona, Kansas, and Nebraska. “As commercial publishers increasingly turn away from books that are deemed unlikely to make a lot of money,” notes the American Association of University Presses, “university presses have found new fields to publish in and new audiences for their books.”
Author Pamela Simpson dies at 65
Pamela Hemenway Simpson, an art historian who was one of the most influential figures of the last four decades at Washington and Lee University, died at her home in Lexington, Va., on Oct. 4th, 2011. She was 65.
Honorable Mention for the Paul Davidoff Prize: Edward Soja's Seeking Spatial Justice
Seeking Spatial Justice by Edward Soja received one of three honorable mentions for the Paul Davidoff Prize. The Paul Davidoff award is presented by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning (ACSP) to honor the memory of a revered and respected activist academic in the field of modern city planning.
Indie Groundbreaking Publisher: UMP feature in Independent Publisher
The University of Minnesota Press is Independent Publisher’s first university groundbreaking publisher. What makes Minnesota so different? They seriously rebel against the stereotype of a stuffy academic press (which we are seeing more and more university publishers doing every day). “We try to publish work that is at the leading-edge or even on the fringes – work a little more ‘out there’ than you see at your usual university press,” Director Doug Armato explains. “We think our specific role is to take cultural and intellectual chances, and this organizational DNA can be seen in everything from the general interest and regional books we publish to the most scholarly books on the list.”
Award: Fighting for the Future of Food
Fighting for the Future of Food by Rachel Schurman and William A. Munro has received the American Political Science Association's 2011 Lynton Caldwell Prize for Best Book in Environmental Politics published in the past 3 years.
Edward Soja Nominated for C. Wright Mills Award
Seeking Spatial Justice by Edward Soja is one of several nominees for the C. Wright Mills Award.
Honorable Mention: Big Belching Bog
Big Belching Bog by Phyllis Root and with illustrations by Betsy Bowen received an Honorable Mention at the Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards.
Award: Seeking Asylum
Seeking Asylum by Alison Mountz, published by University of Minnesota Press, has received the 2010 Association of American Geographers Meridian Book Award for Outstanding Scholarly Work in Geography.
Award: The Once and Future New York
The Once and Future New York by Randall Mason published by University of Minnesota Press has won the 2011 Antoinette Forrester Downing Award.