2015 Awards

Scholarly, trade and regional book awards given to University of Minnesota Press books in 2015.

Listed in alphabetical order according to award:


American Educational Research Association – Outstanding Book Award (Curriculum) – Sexuality in School


American Museum of Natural History – John Burroughs Riverby Award for Young Readers – Plant a Pocket of Prairie


American Sociological Association – Section on Peace, War & Social Confilct – Fighting for Peace


Association for Asian American Studies – Best Book in Social Science Category – Academic Profiling


Association for Queer Anthropology – Ruth Benedict Book Prize – Under Bright Lights – Honorable Mention


International Latino Book Awards – Best Arts Book (English) – Luis Cruz Azaceta


International Research Society for Children’s Literature – Honor Book Award – Civil Rights Childhood


International Society for Landscape Place, and Material Culture – Fred B. Kniffen Book Award – Building Zion


International Studies Association – Book Award of the International Political Sociology Section – The Deadly Life of Logistics


Japanese Association for American Studies – Shimizu Hiroshi Award – Reinventing Citizenship


Midwestern History Association – Jon Gjerde Prize – The Lure of the North Woods


National Book Critics Circle Award – Criticism – The Essential Ellen Willis


Next Generation Indie Book Awards – Current Events/Social Change – The Price of Thirst


Northeast Minnestoa Book Awards – Memoir and Creative Nonfiction – Zenith City – Honorable Mention


Organization of American Historians – Midwestern History Prize – The Lure of the North Woods 


Sigurd Olson – Nature Writing Award – Plant a Pocket of Prairie – Honorable Mention


Society for Landscape, Place, and Material Culture – Fred B. Kniffen Book Award – Building Zion


Vernacular Architecture Forum – Abbot Lowell Cummings Prize – The Social Project


Western Literature Association – Thomas J. Lyon Book Award – The Queerness of Native American Literature


Wordcraft Circle of Native Writers and Storytellers – 2015 Fiction Award – The Road Back to Sweetgrass