2014 Awards

Scholarly, trade and regional book awards given to University of Minnesota Press books in 2014.

Listed in alphabetical order according to award:


American Sociological Association – Asia and Asian American Section – Outstanding book on Asian America – The Changs Next Door to the Diazes


American Sociological Association – Racial and Ethnic Minorities Section – Oliver Cromwell Cox Award – Academic Profiling


Association of American Geographers – Cultural and Political Geology Specialty Group – James Blaut Award – Lifeblood


The Association for Asian Studies – Harry J. Benda Prize – Saigon’s Edge


The Association for Latin American Art Book Award – Making Art Panamerican – Honorable Mention


Choice – Outstanding Academic Title – Black Women against the Land Grab


Choice – Outstanding Academic Title – Pedestrian Modern


International Latino Book Awards – Best Art Book – Pepón Osorio (2nd Place), Ricardo Valverde (honorable mention)


International Latino Book Awards – Best First Book (Nonfiction) – Ricardo Valverde (2nd Place)


International Latino Book Awards – Best Latino-Focused Book – Ricardo Valverde (2nd Place), Pepón Osorio (honorable mention)


International Toy Research Association – BTHA Prize – Anime’s Media Mix


Latin American Studies Association – Latina/o Studies Section – Oye Loca! – Honorable mention


Media Ecology Association – Dorothy Lee Award for Outstanding Scholarship in the Ecology of Culture – Corridor


Minnesota Aviation Hall of Fame – Minnesota Aviation Writer of the Year – El Hai/Non-Stop


Modern Language Association – Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for French and Francophone Studies – The Tropics Bite Back


Modern Language Association – Katherine Singer Kovacs Prize – Making Art Panamerican – Honorable Mention


Midwest Independent Publishers Association – Midwest Book Award – Family/Parent Category – Ready for Air


Minnesota Chapter of the Society of Architectural History – David Stanley Gebhard Award – St. Paul Union Depot


National Association for Chicana and Chicano Studies Book Award – Dissonant Divas


National Women’s Studies Association – Gloria E. Anzaldúa Award – Black Women Against the Land Grab


Native American and Indigenous Studies Association – Prize for Best First Book – Once Were Pacific


Society of Architectural Historians – Alice Davis Hitchcock Award – The Interface


Society for Cinema and Media Studies – Best Edited Collection – Resolutions 3


Society of Social Problems – Eduardo Bonilla-Silva Outstanding Book Award – Academic Profiling (Co-Winner)


Society for the Social Studies of Science – Ludwik Fleck Prize – Cosmopolitics


Woody Guthrie Award for Outstanding Book on Popular Music – Dissonant Divas in Chicana Music

University of Minnesota Press Podcast

More than two dozen essays of Indigenous resistance to the privatization and allotment of Indigenous lands

Allotment Stories: Daniel Heath Justice and Jean M. O'Brien.

A fascinating and unprecedented ethnography of animal sanctuaries in the United States

Saving AnimalsElan Abrell and Kathryn (Katie) Gillespie on sanctuary, care, ethics.

How popular debates about the so-called digital generation mediate anxieties about labor and life in twenty-first-century America

Making creative laborers for a precarious economy: Josef Nguyen, Carly Kocurek, and Patrick LeMieux.



Browse our Fall/Winter 2022-23 catalog for exciting forthcoming books!

Viewing options:

Web collection

PDF (with accessibility features)