Advisory Board


The University of Minnesota Press Test Division Advisory Board is composed of five or six members who are researchers and /or clinical practitioners credentialed in personality assessment and knowledgeable in the application and interpretation of personality instruments, including the MMPI tests. They serve a three-year term, with reappointment possible, and elect a chair from their membership.

The board's responsibilities are to:

  • work with the Test Division in setting research/development priorities, recommending activities that will support improvements in the instruments that are designed to increase their utility and expand their scope;
  • advise the Test Division regarding the preparation and dissemination of requests for research/development proposals;
  • review proposals submitted to the Test Division annually for its research / development program on all tests the Press publishes (currently, the MMPI-3, MMPI-2-RF, MMPI-2, and the MMPI-A-RF and MMPI-A) as well as those in development (currently, the MPQ) and recommend the proposals to be funded;
  • review all proposed publications of the Test Division, including new instruments and major revisions of existing ones, products derived from the tests, as well as monographs reporting research on them. This may involve reviewing evaluations by ad hoc consultants whose expertise may be needed given the varied nature of the publications.

Joye Anestis, Ph.D., Rutgers University School of Public Health

AnestisDr. Joye Anestis is an Associate Professor in the Department of Health Behavior, Society, & Policy at the Rutgers University School of Public Health. A licensed clinical psychologist, she is also a member of the training committee for the Rutgers University Behavioral Healthcare pre-doctoral psychology internship program (APA-accredited), where she provides therapy and assessment supervision and training for psychology residents. Prior to joining the faculty at Rutgers, Dr. Anestis was an Associate Professor at the University of Southern Mississippi, where she served as Director of Clinical Training and Externship Coordinator for the clinical psychology PhD program and received a Nina Bell Suggs Endowed Professorship. Dr. Anestis has authored numerous publications on the MMPI-2-RF/MMPI-3 and has been the recipient of four grants from the University of Minnesota Press to support MMPI-2-RF/MMPI-3 research projects. Her research expertise includes psychological assessment, psychopathy and other externalizing traits and behaviors, access to and outcomes of mental health interventions, and suicide risk assessment and prevention. She currently serves as an Associate Editor for the Journal of Personality Assessment.  

Jacobus Donders, Ph.D., Mary Free Bed Rehabilitation Hospital
DondersDr. Jacobus Donders is the Chief Psychologist at Mary Free Bed Rehabilitation Hospital in Grand Rapids, MI. He is board-certified in Clinical Neuropsychology as well as Rehabilitation Psychology through the American Board of Professional Psychology.  In addition to being an active clinical practitioner, he has served on multiple editorial and executive boards, has authored or co-authored more than 100 publications in peer-reviewed journals, and has edited or co-edited six textbooks.  Dr. Donders is a current associate editor of the journals Child Neuropsychology and Archives of Clinical Neuropsychology.  He is completing his term as secretary of the American Board of Clinical Neuropsychology.  He is also a Fellow of the American Psychological Association and of the National Academy of Neuropsychology.

Radhika Krishnamurthy, Psy.D., ABAP, Florida Institute of Technology 
Dr. Radhika Krishnamurthy is a Professor of Clinical Psychology at Florida Institute of Technology and a licensed psychologist in Florida.  She is Past-President of the Society for Personality Assessment and was former (2008) President of Section IX, Assessment Psychology, of the American Psychological Association’s Division 12.  She is a diplomate of the American Board of Assessment Psychology and fellow of the Society for Personality Assessment and the American Psychological Association.  She serves on the editorial boards of the journals AssessmentJournal of Personality Assessment, and Psychological Assessment.  She is co-author of two MMPI-A books and several book chapters and journal articles on psychological assessment.

 John McNulty, Ph.D., University of Tulsa
John L. McNulty, PhD is an Associate Professor and Chair of The University of Tulsa’s Psychology Department.  His primary research focuses on understanding how questionnaires can be used to understand personality characteristics and functioning.  More broadly, John is interested in issues about how measurement ideas influence psychological assessment.  He teaches courses on how to understand and conduct psychological research, how to evaluate the strengths and weaknesses of personality questionnaires, along with an introductory course on personality assessment that focuses on the MMPI-2 and MMPI-2-RF.  John is a board member, current President-Elect and former Treasurer of the Society for Personality Assessment.   

Jerry Sweet, Ph.D., NorthShore University HealthSystem
SweetJerry Sweet, Ph.D., ABPP, has practiced clinical neuropsychology for more than four decades, with 34 of those years in the academic medical system currently called NorthShore University HealthSystem. At NorthShore, Dr. Sweet held administrative positions of Department Vice Chair and Psychology Division Head, and has been integrally involved in the significant growth of behavioral health services in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences. He is now on the Emeritus Staff. Teaching and training, clinical research, and involvement in local and national professional activities have been persistent activities throughout his career. Over the decades, he has supervised numerous psychology practicum students, interns, and postdoctoral residents. Dr. Sweet received the 2019 Award for Distinguished Service and Contributions to the American Board of Professional Psychology, the 2016 Distinguished Lifetime Contribution to Neuropsychology Award from the National Academy of Clinical Neuropsychology, and the 2011 Distinguished Neuropsychologist of the Year Award from the American Academy of Clinical Neuropsychology. Dr. Sweet has made a number of scholarly contributions related to clinical practice and assessment in particular, including books, numerous book chapters, more than 100 peer-reviewed articles, and more than 160 contributions to professional conferences. Dr. Sweet has served on 13 editorial boards of peer-review journals, among these as co-editor and subsequently the first editor-in-chief of The Clinical Neuropsychologist, the official journal of the American Academy of Clinical Neuropsychology.