Press Releases

These are our press releases
Glen Coulthard receives The Frantz Fanon Award for Outstanding Book in Caribbean Thought
"Red Skin, White Masks is a revolutionary work.”
William D. Green's 'Degrees of Freedom' wins the third Hognander Minnesota History Award
William D. Green is winner of the 2016 Hognander Minnesota History Award for his book 'Degrees of Freedom: The Origins of Civil Rights in Minnesota, 1865–1912.'
R.T. Rybak book launch for Pothole Confidential at First Avenue on April 13
In celebration of R.T. Rybak's memoir POTHOLE CONFIDENTIAL, First Avenue is hosting a launch party April 13 with music, ice cream, and more. This fundraiser supports the city of Minneapolis's STEP-UP youth employment program.
Author Michelle Cliff dies at 69
Cliff embraced her many identities as a light-skinned Creole, a lesbian, and an immigrant in both England and the United States to prove the intersections of prejudice and oppression.
Announcing Avant Museology, a symposium at the Walker Art Center
This two-day symposium on November 20-21, 2016, features University of Minnesota Press authors Timothy Morton, Cary Wolfe, and Arseny Zhilyaev.
Minnesota Senator Amy Klobuchar's inspiring memoir—now in paperback
Minnesota: Where Nobel Prize winner Bob Dylan's career began
Announcing a new series: Art after Nature
Books published in this series engage with the politics and contradictions of the Anthropocene as a concept in order to problematize recent and influential philosophical waves like animal studies, posthumanism, and speculative realism in relation to art writing and art making.
Announcing the Development of the MMPI-3
The University of Minnesota Press is currently sponsoring development of the MMPI-3 under the auspices of the Press’s Research and Product Development program, which is overseen by the University’s Office of the Vice President for Research and an external Advisory Board.
Gary Kaunonen wins 2018 Hognander Minnesota History Award
Gary Kaunonen, author of FLAMES OF DISCONTENT, has won the biennial Hognander Minnesota History Award for his book about the 1916 Minnesota iron ore strike.
'The Sioux Chef's Indigenous Kitchen' by Sean Sherman with Beth Dooley nominated for a James Beard cookbook award.
The University of Minnesota Press with CUNY’s GC Digital Scholarship Lab and Cast Iron Coding announce the release of MANIFOLD 1.0.
The University of Minnesota Press with CUNY’s GC Digital Scholarship Lab and Cast Iron Coding to launch Manifold Scholarship Phase Two
A $789,000 grant from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation will contribute to the Manifold Scholarship project's ability to focus on assisting with installations at other institutions, further development of platform features, and a research project about potential OER (open education resources) uses of the platform.
Announcing a trilogy of Allen Ginsberg’s unpublished journals.
The Sioux Chef’s Indigenous Kitchen wins 2018 James Beard Foundation Book Award
Adrienne Kennedy among 2018 Theater Hall of Fame Inductees
Adrienne Kennedy is among the 2018 Theater Hall of Fame inductees.
University of Minnesota Press to publish memoir of 2018 Olympic gold medalist and U.S. Women’s National Cross Country Ski Team member Jessie Diggins
Jessie Diggins' memoir, written with journalist Todd Smith, beautifully intertwines her Olympic gold medal heroics with her effervescent spirit in a candid memoir full of humility and humor that will inspire audiences the world over.
University of Minnesota Press at London Book Fair
Author Stuart Biegel dies at 73
The Great Minnesota Cookie Book finalist for IACP Award

There are currently no items in this folder.

University of Minnesota Press Podcast


Art and Posthumanism: Cary Wolfe in conversation with Art after Nature series editors Giovanni Aloi and Caroline Picard.


Life in Plastic: Petrochemical fantasies and synthetic sensibilities, with Caren Irr, Lisa Swanstrom, Jennifer Wagner-Lawlor, and Daniel Worden.


Live: A book launch for We Are Meant to Rise at Next Chapter Booksellers features Carolyn Holbrook, David Mura, Douglas Kearney, Melissa Olson, Said Shaiye, and Kao Kalia Yang.