Press Releases

These are our press releases
OUT OF THE VINYL DEEPS a finalist for a National Book Critics Circle award
University of Minnesota Press is thrilled at the news that OUT OF THE VINYL DEEPS: ELLEN WILLIS ON ROCK MUSIC, a compilation of essays by the New Yorker's first pop music critic, has been selected as a finalist for a National Book Critics Circle award.
Johnny Otis, ‘Godfather of Rhythm and Blues,’ Dies at 90
VIKINGS IN THE ATTIC a finalist for MN Book Award
INSECT MEDIA wins the SCMS Anne Friedberg Innovative Scholarship Award
INSECT MEDIA: AN ARCHAEOLOGY OF ANIMALS AND TECHNOLOGY by Jussi Parikka is the proud winner of the Society for Cinema and Media Studies' Anne Friedberg award for Innovative Scholarship.
SISTER ARTS a Lambda Literary Award finalist
Sister Arts: The Erotics of Lesbian Landscapes, by Lisa L. Moore, is nominated for a Lambda Literary Award in the LGBT Studies category. Winners will be announced at a ceremony on June 4th, 2012.
SISTER ARTS a Publishing Triangle Award nominee
Honoring the best in LGBT writing for 2011, the Publishing Triangle and the Ferro-Grumley Literary Awards are pleased to recognize the finalists in the six categories below. The winners will be announced at our awards ceremony on April 19, 2012.
Suspended Animation: Children's Picture Books and the Fairy Tale of Modernity by Nathalie op de Beeck has been declared the best book of 2010 by the Children's Literature Association
Author Joel Olson dies at 45
Joel Olson was a professor at Northern Arizona University and author of The Abolition of White Democracy (2004).
NORTH COUNTRY wins inaugural Hognander Minnesota History Prize
North Country: The Making of Minnesota, by Mary Lethert Wingerd, will be honored at the Minnesota Book Awards Gala.
TWELVE OWLS among NE Minnesota Book Awards nominees
TWELVE OWLS, written by Laura Erickson and with illustrations by Betsy Bowen, is among this year's NE Minnesota Book Awards nominees in the Nonfiction category.
RIFFTIDE nominated for Jazz Journalists Association Award
Rifftide: The Life and Opinions of Papa Jo Jones, edited by Paul Devlin, is nominated for Best Book about Jazz of the Year. Winners will be announced June 20th.
WHISKEY BREAKFAST a runner-up for 2012 Society of Midland Authors award
A poignant, multigenerational tale of the Swedish-American experience for two disparate Chicago families
THE OPPOSITE OF COLD wins 2012 Gebard award from MNSAH
The Minnesota Chapter of the Society of Architectural Historians awards THE OPPOSITE OF COLD: The Northwoods Finnish Sauna Tradition, by Michael Nordskog and Aaron Hautala, the 8th annual David Stanley Gebhard Award.
Karen Nelson Hoyle is recipient of 2012 Kerlan Award
TWELVE OWLS wins honorable mention for general nonfiction
The Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards has recognized TWELVE OWLS by Laura Erickson and Betsy Bowen with an honorable mention in general nonfiction.
Egyptian writer awarded Stig Dagerman prize
Egyptian writer and human rights activist Nawal El Saadawi receives the Stig Dagerman prize, given annually to an organisation or writer working to protect and promote free speech.
Alondra Nelson's BODY AND SOUL wins American Sociological Association section book award
Alondra Nelson's BODY AND SOUL receives the ASA's Race, Gender and Class Section's 2012 Distinguished Book Award.
Regina Root's COUTURE AND CONSENSUS wins Whitaker Prize
Regina Root has been awarded the prestigious Arthur P. Whitaker Prize for her book Couture & Consensus: Fashion and Politics in Postcolonial Argentina.
SISTER ARTS wins Lambda Literary Award
SISTER ARTS by Lisa L. Moore receives the award in the LGBT Studies sections at the 24th Annual Lambda Literary Awards ceremony on June 4th, 2012.
Jailhouse Stories author Neil Haugerud dies
Neil Haugerud, author of Jailhouse Stories, died June 6th, 2012, at the age of 81.

There are currently no items in this folder.

University of Minnesota Press Podcast


Art and Posthumanism: Cary Wolfe in conversation with Art after Nature series editors Giovanni Aloi and Caroline Picard.


Life in Plastic: Petrochemical fantasies and synthetic sensibilities, with Caren Irr, Lisa Swanstrom, Jennifer Wagner-Lawlor, and Daniel Worden.


Live: A book launch for We Are Meant to Rise at Next Chapter Booksellers features Carolyn Holbrook, David Mura, Douglas Kearney, Melissa Olson, Said Shaiye, and Kao Kalia Yang.