Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Navigation

LAURENTIAN DIVIDE event at the University Club with Sarah Stonich

When May 14, 2019
from 07:30 PM to 08:30 PM
Where University Club, 420 Summit Ave., St. Paul, MN 55102
Add event to calendar vCal
iCal

Laurentian Divide (Sarah Stonich)Sarah Stonich will be at the University Club on Tuesday, May 14 at 7:30 p.m. for a reading and signing of her new book, Laurentian Divide: A Novel, for a "Readings by Writers" event. She will be joined by Anika Fajardo, Ed Book Lee, and Brad Zellar.

 

Bitter winters are nothing new in Hatchet Inlet, hard up against the ridge of the Laurentian Divide, but the advent of spring can’t thaw the community’s collective grief, lingering since a senseless tragedy the previous fall. Weaving in and out of each other’s reach, trying hard to do their best (all the while wondering what that might be), the residents of this remote town in all their sweetness and sorrow remind us once more of the inescapable lurches of the heart and unexpected turns of our human comedy.

 

"Hilarious, smart, moving, and kind, Laurentian Divide is good for the soul, or anyway, it was good for mine." —Richard Russo

 

"Stonich weaves past and present into a lyrical, immersive novel. Fans of Kent Haruf and Paulette Jiles will fall in love with Stonich’s depiction of Minnesota: harsh and welcoming, friendly and unforgiving, all at once. Exploring the consequences of actions set in motion months, years, or even decades ago, Stonich’s slow burn of a novel questions what—and who—can belong to us." —Booklist

 

"The second book in a planned trilogy is a vivid stand-alone tale of life in Hatchet Inlet. It’s a treat to return to Hatchet Inlet and revisit characters who continue to face joy and sorrow with a wry resolve that is fetching and funny." —Star Tribune

Related content
Laurentian Divide