2020 Awards

Scholarly, trade and regional book awards given to University of Minnesota Press books in 2020.

Listed in alphabetical order according to award:


American Anthropological Association – Council on Anthropology and Education – Outstanding Book Award – Border Thinking


American Society of Journalists and Authors Book Awards – Biography/History – The Lost Brothers


American Sociological Association - Sociology of Sex and Gender Section - Distinguished Book Award - Men in Place


Association of American Geographers - Political Geography Specialty Group - Julian Minghi Distinguished Book Award - Fair Trade Rebels


Association of American Geographers - Cultural and Political Ecology (CAPE) Specialty Group - Outstanding Publication Award - Reimagining Livelihoods


Association of American Publishers – PROSE Award – Best New Journal in the Humanities – Verge: Studies in Global Asias


Association for Humanist Sociology — Betty and Alfred McClung Lee Book Award — Suspect Communitieshonorable mention


British International Studies Association – L.H.M. Ling Outstanding First Book Prize – The Politics of Annihilation - shortlist


Canadian Communications Association - Gertrude J. Robinson Book Prize - Cyberwar and Revolution


Children’s Literature Association - Book Award - Histories of the Transgender Child


Choice – Outstanding Academic Title – Breathtaking


Choice – Outstanding Academic Title – Compulsory


Choice – Outstanding Academic Title – Dialogues on the Human Ape


Choice – Outstanding Academic Title – Living on Campus


Choice – Outstanding Academic Title – Metaphysical Experiments


Choice – Outstanding Academic Title – Outsider Theory


Choice – Outstanding Academic Title – The ABC of It


Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library – Hognander Minnesota History Award – The Children of Lincoln


German Society of Interdisciplinary Criminology (GiwK) – Fritz Sack Award for Outstanding Publication – Security in the Bubble


International Society of Place, Landscape and Material Culture – Fred B. Kniffen Award – The Decorated Tenement


International Society of Place, Landscape and Material Culture – Allen G. Noble Award for Best Edited Publication Avant-Garde in the Cornfields


International Studies Assiociation – International Political Sociology Section Best Book Award – Politics of Annihilation - shortlist


Labriola Center – American Indian National Book Award – Translated Nation


Media Ecology Association – Book Awards – Graphic Assembly – finalist


Media Ecology Association – Book Awards – The Anime Ecology – finalist


Media Ecology Association – Book Awards – DIA-LOGOS – finalist


Media Ecology Association – Book Awards – Variations on Media Thinking – finalist


Melville Society – Hennig Cohen Prize – Circulating Queerness


Michigan Notable Books list – Wolf Island


Midwestern History Association – Hamlin Garland Prize in Popular History – Walking the Old Road


Minnesota Society of Architectural Historians – David Stanley Gebhard Award - Metropolitan Dreams


Modern Language Association – MLA Prize for Studies in Native American Literatures, Cultures, and Languages – Translated Nation


Modernist Studies Association – Best First Book Award – Zoological Surrealism - shortlist


National Reading Group Month – Great Group Reads 2020 – Tell Me Your Names and I Will Testify


Northeastern Minnesota Book Award – Fiction – In the Night of Memory


Northeastern Minnesota Book Award – Fiction – Jack and the Ghost – honorable mention


Northeastern Minnesota Book Award – Children’s Literature – The Lost Forest – honorable mention


Northeastern Minnesota Book Award – Nonfiction – Walking the Old Road


Science Fiction Research Association – Book Award – Information Fantasies


Society for Cultural Anthropology – Gregory Bateson Book Award – Alchemy of Methhonorable mention


Society for Humanistic Anthropology – Victor Turner Prize for Ethnographic Writing – The Alchemy of Meth – honorable mention


Upper Peninsula Publishers & Authors Association (UPPAA) – U.P. Notable Book Award – In the Night of Memory


UW–Madison – Cooperative Children’s Book Center (CCBC) – Charlotte Zolotow Award – Johnnys Pheasant