2019 Awards

Scholarly, trade and regional book awards given to University of Minnesota Press books in 2019.

Listed in alphabetical order according to award:


African Literature Association – Best First Book – Postcolonial Automobility


American Anthropological Association – Julian Steward Award – The River Is In Us


American Educational Studies Association – Critics’ Choice Book Awards – Youth Media Matters


American Psychoanalytic Association – Courage To Dream Prize – Wild Child


American Sociological Association – Racial and Ethnic Minorities Section – Oliver Cromwell Cox Award – Black Boys Apart – Co-winner


American Sociological Association – Section on the Sociology of Education – Pierre Bourdieu Award – Black Boys Apart


Association for Asian American Studies – Outstanding Achievement in Humanities and Cultural Studies: Literature – Writing Human Rights


Association for the Study of the Arts of the Present – Book Prize – Archaeologies of Touch– Shortlist


Canadian Communication Association – 2019 Gertrude J. Robinson Book Award – Internet Daemons


Children’s Literature Association – Best Edited Collection Award – Who Writes for Black Children?


Choice Outstanding Academic Title – Who Writes for Black Children?


Choice Outstanding Academic Title – A Literature of Questions


Choice Outstanding Academic Title – Veer Ecology


Choice Outstanding Academic Title – After Extinction


College Art Association – Frank Jewett Mather Award – Undocumented Everyday


Devil’s Kitchen Reading Award in Nonfiction Prose – Lemon Jail


Forward INDIES Award – Autobiography & Memoir – The Right to Be Cold


Historical Society of Southern California – Norman Neuerburg Award – California Mission Landscapes


International Studies Association – Science, Technology, and Art in International Relations (STAIR) Book Prize – Cyberwar and Revolution


Lambda Literary Foundation – Transgender Nonfiction – Histories of the Transgender Child


Media Ecology Association – Dorothy Lee Award – Code and Clay, Data and Dirt


Media Ecology Association – Lewis Mumford Award – The Eye of War


Midwest Booksellers Choice Award – Children’s Picture Book – Hush Hush, Forest


Midwestern History Association – Hamlin Garland Award – The Crusade for Forgotten Souls


Minnesota Book Award – Award for Minnesota Nonfiction – The Crusade for Forgotten Souls


Minnesota Book Award – Award for Novel & Short Story – Laurentian Divide


Modern Language Association – James Russell Lowell Prize – Outsider Theory


National Outdoor Book Awards – Children’s Category – The Lost Forest – Honorable Mention


National Reading Group Month – Great Group Reads 2019 Selection – Laurentian Divide


Northeast Minnesota Book Award – Fiction – Laurentian Divide


Northeast Minnesota Book Award – Children’s Literature – Hush Hush, Forest


Northeast Minnesota Book Award – Memoir – Iron and Water


Northeast Minnesota Book Award – Nonfiction – Gichi Bitobig, Grand Marais


Over the Rainbow Book List – Circulating Queerness, Gay, Inc., Wild Mares


Popular Culture Association – John Leo and Dana Heller Award for Best Single Work, Anthology, Multi-authored, or Edited Book in LGBTQ Studies – Histories of the Transgender Child


Publishing Professionals Network – Reference and Scholarly Book Award – Border Country – Honorable Mention


Society for the Anthropology of North America – Delmos Jones and Jagna Sharf Memorial Prize – Herlands


Society for Architectural Historians – Antoinette Forrester Downing Award – Historic Capital


Society for Architectural Historians – Spiro Kostof Award – Seizing Jerusalem


Society for Architectural Historians – Elisabeth Blair MacDougall Award California Mission Landscapes


Society for Cinema and Media Studies – Anne Friedberg Innovative Scholarship Award – Code and Clay, Data and Dirt


Society for Cinema and Media Studies – Best First Book – Playing With Feelings


Society for Literature, Science, and the Arts – Michelle Kendrick Memorial Book Prize – Archaeologies of Touch – Honorable Mention


Society for Midland Authors – Annual Literary Award – Laurentian Divide