2008 Awards

Scholarly, trade and regional book awards given to University of Minnesota Press books in 2008.

Listed in alphabetical order according to award:


American Institute of Pakistan Studies - Junior Book Prize

Making Lahore Modern


City of Minneapolis – Heritage Preservation Award in Education and Activism

Twin Cities By Trolley


Choice Current Reviews for Academic Libraries – Outstanding Academic Title list


Building a Century of Progress

The People Have Never Stopped Dancing

Hollywood Independents

Eric Hoffer Project – The Montaigne Medal

Aesthetics of Equity


The Environmental Design Research Association's 2008 EDRA/Places awards

America Town

Friends of the Duluth Public Library and University of Minnesota Duluth – Northeastern Book Awards

Morgan Park


Friends of the St. Paul Public Library – Minnesota Book Award

Land of Amber Waters


Gustavus Myers Center – Gustavus Myers Outstanding Book Awards (honorable mention)

Footsteps in the Dark


Minnesota Chapter of the Society of Architectural Historians - David Stanley Gebhard Award

St. Paul’s Architecture

Modern Language Association – Allan Bray Memorial Book Award (honorable mention)

Cultural Erotics in Cuban America


Modern Language Association's William Sanders Scarborough Prize

Private Lives, Proper Relations


National Conference of Black Political Scientists – W.E.B. DuBois Book Award

Revolutionaries to Race Leaders


Railway & Locomotive Historical Society – George M. and Constance W. Hilton Book Award

The Tootin’ Louie


Society of Dance History Scholars – de la Torre Bueno Prize for Outstanding Book of the Year

The People Have Never Stopped Dancing


Vernacular Architecture Forum - Abbott Lowell Cummings Award

A Manufactured Wilderness


Western Literature Association - Thomas J. Lyon Book Award in Western American Literary and Cultural Studies

Bandits, Captives, Heroines, and Saints