Editorial Information

Editorial information for University of Minnesota Press journal Journal of American Indian Education


Bryan McKinley Jones Brayboy (Lumbee) 
Arizona State University

Teresa L. McCarty
University of California, Los Angeles


Angelina E. Castagno
Northern Arizona University

Patricia D. Quijada Cerecer (Chicana/Cupeño)
University of California, Davis


Justin Hill

Business Manager

Andrea Underwood

JAIE Editors Emeriti

David Beaulieu (White Earth Chippewa)
Karen Gayton Comeau (Standing Rock Sioux)

K. Tsianina Lomawaima (Mvskoke/Creek Nation, not enrolled)
John W. Tippeconnic III (Comanche)
Octaviana Trujillo (Yoeme)
Denis Viri

Editorial Board

Seth A. Agbo, Lakehead University

Jo-ann Archibald (Stol:lo), University of British Columbia

Megan Bang (Anishinaabe), Northwestern University

Ray Barnhardt, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Serafín M. Coronel-Molina (Wanka/Quechua), Indiana University

George Sefa Dei, University of Toronto

Donna Deyhle, University of Utah, Emerita

Susan C. Faircloth (Coharie), Colorado State University

Perry Gilmore, University of Arizona

Noelani Goodyear-Kaʽōpua (Native Hawaiian), University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa

Sandy Grande (Quechua), University of Connecticut

Justin Guillory (Nez Perce), Northwest Indian College

Mary Hermes (Dakota, Chinese), University of Minnesota

Beverly Klug, Idaho State University, Emerita

Tiffany S. Lee (Diné/Lakota), University of New Mexico

Beth Leonard (Deg Xinag Athabaskan), Alaska Pacific University

Kaiwipunikauikawēkiu Lipe (Native Hawaiian), University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa

Jameson D. Lopez (Quechan), University of Arizona

Allan Luke, Queensland University of Technology, Emeritus

Ananda M. Marin (Choctaw descent), University of California, Los Angeles

Nathan Martin, Arizona State University

Stephen May, University of Auckland

Douglas L. Medin, Northwestern University

Sharon Nelson-Barber (Rappahannock), WestEd

Sheilah Nicholas (Hopi), University of Arizona

Leonie Pihama (Māori), University of Waikato

Jon Reyhner, Northern Arizona University

Monty Roessel (Diné), Diné College

Mary Eunice Romero-Little (Cochiti), Arizona State University

Heather Shotton (Wichita/Kiowa/Cheyenne), University of Oklahoma

Graham Smith (Māori), Te Whare Wananga o Awanuiarangi

Linda Tuhiwai Smith (Māori), University of Waikato

Elizabeth Sumida Huaman (Wanka/Quechua), University of Minnesota

Malia Villegas (Alutiiq/Sugpiaq), Afognak Native Corporation

Stephanie Waterman (Onondaga), University of Toronto

Leisy T. Wyman, University of Arizona


Essay Submission Guidelines

Prepare manuscripts according to the most recent Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) (https://apastyle.apa.org/products/publication-manual-7th-edition). Format manuscripts in Microsoft Word and blind for anonymous peer review; manuscripts not blinded or appropriately formatted will be returned. In a transmittal letter, authors must certify that the manuscript is not being considered by another publisher. All empirical studies must document: (1) the use of accepted ethical protocols for research with human subjects; and (2) site-specific approvals, including research and/or IRB approvals required by Native nations, tribes, or bands as well as schools and school districts, where appropriate. Please use the term most appropriate to the Indigenous group or people to whom the manuscript refers. American Indian/Alaska Native, Native American, Native Hawaiian, and Indigenous are acceptable terms when referring to Indigenous peoples of the United States and Hawaiʻi.

All manuscripts must be submitted electronically to jaie@asu.edu. Submit the manuscript as one Word document (do not send a pdf). In separate Word documents, provide: (1) abstract (150 words); (2) biographical statement(s) for each author (50 words each); and (3) contact information for each author, including author name, affiliation, email address, postal address, and phone number. Do not include author name(s) on the manuscript.

Feature-length manuscripts: (research studies, scholarly essays, original reviews of literature, interpretive/theoretical studies) should be 7,500-8,000 words total, including references, endnotes, tables, and figures. 

Reports from the Field: (original scholarly manuscripts providing descriptive, evaluative, and/or policy-oriented analyses of innovative education models and practices) should be no more than 5,000 words, including references, endnotes, tables, and figures.

Manuscripts will be considered throughout the year and, if accepted, will be published in any of the three issues at the direction of the editorial staff. There is no remuneration for JAIE contributors; authors will receive three free copies of the issue in which the manuscript is published. Additional copies (up to 10) of the issue in which the manuscript was published may be purchased at a discounted rate. 

Editorial Queries

Go to jaie.asu.edu or contact jaie@asu.edu.